Good Morning Text

In this technology driven world, what is an easier way to tell your beau “I’m thinking about you” than a text first thing when you get up? I mean, sending a message when they are beside you would be bizarre, but otherwise, it’s sweet.

What is the first thing you do when you wake up? I touch my phone, not in a creepy way, but I turn off the alarm and check the notifications I missed during my sleep. If I am into someone, I typically fire off a couple of words or an emoji.

It takes literally 3 to 10 seconds to send something, dependent on your typing speed, but doesn’t that put some things into perspective? No one is ever too busy to touch base even in the middle of the morning rush.

I learned something this recent fall regarding my desire for a morning message. Working multiple night shifts and having conflicting schedules, I thought I would express to the guy I was seeing this simple act of endearment. His response, “I think we text and talk enough.” Ummm… clearly he was lacking in more than one level of communication, but regardless, I recognized I need someone to WANT to message me first thing. Even better, do it out of routine and just random desire.

I swear I’m not being petty. It’s just one of the many pieces that help satisfy my love language and I appreciate the gesture because then I know that person has me on their mind. Can anyone else relate to this?

I completely recognize that some people feel it is creepy and stifling. I can relate when someone I’ve asked to leave me alone continues to shoot me a “Morning, beautiful.” (Please leave them alone if you are doing this, Breadcrumber…) Here is the thing though, maybe you aren’t vibing the person if you aren’t digging their frequent texting. When I look forward to hearing from a man, I know I’m smitten.

At the end of the day, find your right messaging match. Anything can be too much or too little for one person or another. Communicating your needs is important, but maybe you will luck out and find the balance without saying a thing… other than “Good Morning, Babe.”

As always, stay safe and have fun!

Leave a comment